Get Child Passenger Safety Seats Installed in your Car this Week

In case of an accident, children are the most vulnerable when they are in the wrong type of seat for their age and size or if the seat is not installed properly, according to Deputy Rich Comstock of Riverside County Sheriff’s Office.

During the passenger safety week, the Riverside County Sheriff’s Office and the cities of Eastvale, Jurupa Valley and Norco, will help parents and caregivers with the installation of child safety seats.

Statistics by the National Highway Safety Administration indicate that nearly half (46%) of car seats are misused.

“California law requires all children under the age of two years to ride in a rear-facing car seat, unless the child is 40 or more inches tall or weighs at least 40 pounds”, Mark Shayani of Pacific Attorney Group explains.

At a minimum, children aged 8 years and above or who are at least 4 feet nine inches tall must wear a properly fitted safety belt. They may also be secured by a booster seat.

Visit the Office of Traffic Safety website to check the car seat program in your county. Alternatively, you can contact the California Highway Patrol area office to schedule a free child passenger safety inspection.